Welcome to the new Schneider Electric Community

It's your place to connect with experts and peers, get continuous support, and share knowledge.

  • Explore the new navigation for even easier access to your community.
  • Bookmark and use our new, easy-to-remember address (community.se.com).
  • Get ready for more content and an improved experience.

Contact SchneiderCommunity.Support@se.com if you have any questions.

Close
Invite a Co-worker
Send a co-worker an invite to the Exchange portal.Just enter their email address and we’ll connect them to register. After joining, they will belong to the same company.
Send Invite Cancel
84649members
353989posts

GeoSCADA 6.80.7641.1 License shows DNP3 enabled, Server Status shows DNP3 status = no license

EcoStruxure Geo SCADA Expert Forum

Find out how SCADA systems and networks, like EcoStruxure Geo SCADA Expert, help industrial organizations maintaining efficiency, processing data for smarter decision making with IoT, RTU and PLC devices.

Solved
Critcho
Crewman
Crewman
0 Likes
8
1817

GeoSCADA 6.80.7641.1 License shows DNP3 enabled, Server Status shows DNP3 status = no license

Hi guys,

 

I've set up a test server, using a licence dongle. I tried to set up a DNP3 TCP direct channel, but it was always failed; Quality = Device Failure. When I tried to enable logging on the comms channel per https://tprojects.schneider-electric.com/GeoSCADAHelp/Geo%20SCADA%202020/Default.htm#ServerAdministr..., I noticed that it shows DNP3 as "No License". But my License Details shows DNP3 is enabled. What am I missing here?

 

2021-02-23 GeoSCADA Licence shows DNP enabled but Serve Status shows DNP not licensed - Censored.png

Thanks for your help,

Scott


Accepted Solutions
AdamWoodland
Commander Commander
Commander
7
1812

Re: GeoSCADA 6.80.7641.1 License shows DNP3 enabled, Server Status shows DNP3 status = no license

That's usually caused by having unlicensed extensions to the DNP3 driver, if you have them installed and one isn't licensed it takes the whole driver out. Run the installer and check, given you have the core DNP3 and DNP3 WITS you probably have the ENET extension installed but not licensed.

See Answer In Context

8 Replies 8
AdamWoodland
Commander Commander
Commander
7
1813

Re: GeoSCADA 6.80.7641.1 License shows DNP3 enabled, Server Status shows DNP3 status = no license

That's usually caused by having unlicensed extensions to the DNP3 driver, if you have them installed and one isn't licensed it takes the whole driver out. Run the installer and check, given you have the core DNP3 and DNP3 WITS you probably have the ENET extension installed but not licensed.

BevanWeiss
Spock
Spock
0 Likes
5
1807

Re: GeoSCADA 6.80.7641.1 License shows DNP3 enabled, Server Status shows DNP3 status = no license

As Adam said, WITS, ENET and x70 are potential extensions which aren't the generic DNP3 licence (although ENET and x70 are out of the box licences... I'm think WITS may be an extra costed licence)


Lead Control Systems Engineer for Alliance Automation (VIC).
All opinions are my own and do not represent the opinions or policies of my employer, or of my cat..
AdamWoodland
Commander Commander
Commander
0 Likes
4
1804

Re: GeoSCADA 6.80.7641.1 License shows DNP3 enabled, Server Status shows DNP3 status = no license

What's odd is the screenshot of the licence isn't showing the standard out of the box licence with all the standard drivers included. So wondering if this was something special someone was testing.

BevanWeiss
Spock
Spock
0 Likes
3
1791

Re: GeoSCADA 6.80.7641.1 License shows DNP3 enabled, Server Status shows DNP3 status = no license

Ohh right yeah... that dongle licence looks super dodgy.

 

Either it was generated really badly outside of Schneider, or it was very badly generated internally within Schneider.

In the first case, I'd suggest joining a witness protection program and not speaking of this again... in the second case I'd raise it with your Schneider support contact, and get the dongle code re-generated.


Lead Control Systems Engineer for Alliance Automation (VIC).
All opinions are my own and do not represent the opinions or policies of my employer, or of my cat..
geoffpatton
Commander
Commander
0 Likes
0
1769

Re: GeoSCADA 6.80.7641.1 License shows DNP3 enabled, Server Status shows DNP3 status = no license

It could be some specially negotiated low cost minimum licensing.

 

At my previous company we did this with Citect. the licensing would only run as a single server, with Modbus and like 1500 points.

It was supposed to be a easier foot in the door and then get them to upgrade. It was kind of a flop. I only recall a few installations, and they did not grow. very small municipalities.

Critcho
Crewman
Crewman
0 Likes
0
1752

Re: GeoSCADA 6.80.7641.1 License shows DNP3 enabled, Server Status shows DNP3 status = no license

Thanks @AdamWoodland, looks like that was the issue. I uninstalled DNP3.SCADAPack E (Kept DNP3.WITS), still didn't work. I then went through the installer again, and uninstalled anything that I absolutely didn't need; I'm guessing Schneider Electric SCADAPack x70.DNP3 Protocol was the problem. This must have been installed by default, I have absolutely no need for it, I wouldn't have picked it manually.

 

I know GeoSCADA is a massive system, and this problem is rare, but it could have been handled better, instead of leaving me guessing.

Critcho
Crewman
Crewman
0 Likes
1
1751

Re: GeoSCADA 6.80.7641.1 License shows DNP3 enabled, Server Status shows DNP3 status = no license

@BevanWeiss there is nothing "dodgy" about the licence, and I'm surprised to see remarks like that on what I thought was a professional forum. It is a cut-down licence specifically generated for suppliers to test their equipment against GeoSCADA using the WITS protocol.

BevanWeiss
Spock
Spock
0 Likes
0
1741

Re: GeoSCADA 6.80.7641.1 License shows DNP3 enabled, Server Status shows DNP3 status = no license

@Critcho 

dodgy
adjective

 UK informal

  - likely to fail or cause problems

 

Given you were posting to a forum about how the licence is causing you problems, tell me again how this was not dodgy?

 

I would have expected that with such a cut down licence, which is most definitely not 'normal', there would have been some specific use-instructions associated with it.  So when installing a ClearSCADA / Geo SCADA Expert installation you would have had details on exactly which boxes in the installer to tick for this particular licence.

 

All that aside, you get what you pay for.. both in licences, and in forums 😉


Lead Control Systems Engineer for Alliance Automation (VIC).
All opinions are my own and do not represent the opinions or policies of my employer, or of my cat..