Welcome to the new Schneider Electric Community

It's your place to connect with experts and peers, get continuous support, and share knowledge.

  • Explore the new navigation for even easier access to your community.
  • Bookmark and use our new, easy-to-remember address (community.se.com).
  • Get ready for more content and an improved experience.

Contact SchneiderCommunity.Support@se.com if you have any questions.

Close
Invite a Co-worker
Send a co-worker an invite to the Exchange portal.Just enter their email address and we’ll connect them to register. After joining, they will belong to the same company.
Send Invite Cancel
84622members
353937posts

Service by APC

APC UPS for Home and Office Forum

Schneider Electric support forum for our APC offers including Home Office UPS, Surge Protectors, UTS, software and services and associated products designed to share knowledge, installation, and configuration.

SB63
Cadet
0 Likes
1
100

Service by APC

Is the service by APC bad everywhere or only here? 

I had purchased one APC (UPS) in June 2020, which carried 2 years Warranty.
Like any good product (especially those made in China, probably this too is), it promptly failed the moment Warranty period was over (in July 2022) - infact second time, but the warranty clause says the warrantee period failures won't be resetting the clock, so I won't delivberate on that.
There was a mistake from my side, since most probably failure would have started in warranty period itself, since the type of failure is gradual, rarely catastrophic.
I, unfortunately, depended on the Powerchute software, which said (and even now says) everything is healthy, even in forced (manual) self -check, instead of physically monitoring the display parameters on regular basis.

Earlier too, exactly 1 year from purchase (June 2021) it had a problem, and the service person very promptly, within one month from complaint booking, had come checked and replaced the battery after another one week. Thus the battery which should have had a life of 2 years (and APC website says about 3 years) is lasting only one year or so - and twice - since this is the second battery (replaced, I assume SE was forced that time, since it was still within warranty period) - minus the (negligible) months that APC service department takes in attending.

In the current context, subsequent to again (suspected battery failure), a complaint was booked on 3 weeks back, and a prompt (automated) mail, like the last instant, has come with usual linguistic jugglery. Despite all the data being given, including the invoices etc, a tabular data was asked and the information was provided on the same day
There had been a few correspondence for next couple of days - pointing out from SE that it was beyond warranty period etc and would be chargeable, to which, I agreed, not to have any controversy.

After that there was a complete silence.
The matter was reminded again and on each reminder case reference number kept on changing, but not the physical aspect of the case. It stays as it is.

I am highly impressed with the speed of service and also quality of product, and I am sure I made the correct choice when I went for a branded product instead of picking one up from the local market.

I would recommend the Schneider Brand to all, who ever wants to have a white elephant, which would guzzle food (this too eats up power, in trying to charge an unchargeable battery) and zero physical use.


BTW:
The website does not have a complaint escalation mechanism. Deliberate? Since probably the next in line would be flooded with the complaints

1 Reply 1
JonPro
Lt. Commander Lt. Commander
Lt. Commander
0 Likes
0
31

Re: Service by APC

Hi @SB63,

 

Thank you for using the SE Community Exchange! My name is Jon, your support specialist who will work with you on this query.

 

I am sorry to hear about the experience that you had with our support team.  Kindly share with me through DM the case numbers that were given to you by our team and I will look into this and share your feedback with the correct team.

 

This would also help me identify the issues that you were having on the unit.

Regards,

JonPro
Secure Power Team
Tags (1)