Welcome to the new Schneider Electric Community

It's your place to connect with experts and peers, get continuous support, and share knowledge.

  • Explore the new navigation for even easier access to your community.
  • Bookmark and use our new, easy-to-remember address (community.se.com).
  • Get ready for more content and an improved experience.

Contact SchneiderCommunity.Support@se.com if you have any questions.

Close
Invite a Co-worker
Send a co-worker an invite to the Exchange portal.Just enter their email address and we’ll connect them to register. After joining, they will belong to the same company.
Send Invite Cancel
84756members
354188posts

Notification that alert has rectified/reverted

EcoStruxure IT forum

A support forum for Data Center Operation, Data Center Expert, and EcoStruxure IT product users to share knowledge on installation, configuration, and general product use.

Protocoldave
Cadet

Notification that alert has rectified/reverted

HI there,

 

In my previous job I used Sysaid to monitor the estate PC's.  I had hundreds of traps setup to notify me on a variety of different warnings, issues and failures.  I also had a notification to let me know that whatever the notification was (warning, error, failure) I would receive a second notification to let me know that the device had recovered from what ever the issue was.  That way I would know to ignore certain notifications as they are now resolved.  

 

I'm trying to find in DCE a similar notification setting.    When in Alarm Configuration Tab, right click all devices, Edit communication status thresholds - There's a Return to Normal Requires User Input.  Would this enable a notification or have I got that muddled with another task?

 

Many thanks in advance, I'm sure there's a simple answer for this, just can't for the life of me find it.

 

Kind regards,

 

David.

Tags (1)
1 Reply 1
Shaun
Lt. Commander Lt. Commander
Lt. Commander
0 Likes
0
233

Re: Notification that alert has rectified/reverted

Hi David,

 

The setting "return to normal requires user input" is the opposite of what you're looking for - it prevents alarms clearing until a user acknowledges them - it intentionally stops alarms from going away on their own.  This is useful for .. for example, if I have a Smoke Detection alarm - even if it clears, I should probably check it out.

 

The setting I believe you're looking for is actually in the email settings.  So within a Notification Policy, when you add Send E-mail as an alarm action, the "Advanced Options" tab has a checkbox "Do not send Return to Normal messages".

 

The good news is the behaviour you're looking for is the default - but that's where the option lives so you can double-check it.

 

Thanks,

  Shaun

 

Tags (1)