Issue
There are a number of ways to disable a User, a card, or access levels, depending on what is needed at the site.
Product Line
EcoStruxure Security Expert
Environment
- Security Expert
- Data Sync
- Active Directory
Warning
Potential for Data Loss: The steps detailed in the resolution of this article may result in a loss of critical data if not performed properly. Before beginning these steps, make sure all important data is backed up in the event of data loss. If you are unsure or unfamiliar with any complex steps detailed in this article, please contact Product Support for assistance.
Cause
There are a number of options described in documents and Security Expert's help, but the options are not consolidated in one place for comparison.
Resolution
Here are the options in no particular order. Some of these options can be affected when using the Data Sync Service and Active directory or they can be set manually in Security Expert.
1. Setting User Start and Expiry Dates
Each user can be assigned access for a defined period by checking the Start and/or End options (in the General tab) and setting a date and time. This allows you to issue and send out cards prior to access being enabled, such as for employees who have not started yet. You can also set credentials to automatically expire, for example when a contractor is due to finish on a set date.
2. Disabling Users or using the Delete option
a. The Disable User setting (found under the Options tab) removes access immediately while still retaining the user record and its details. This is ideal for removing access temporarily, such as when staff are away on extended leave, or removing access while still retaining the user information. This gets distributed to the controllers with priority.
b. User Disable or Delete
1. Disable period: When this option is enabled you can set an inactivity period in days, hours or minutes. If there is no user activity during this period (i.e. they do not access any doors or keypads), the user record will be disabled (using the Disable user option in the Options tab).
2. Delete period: When this option is enabled you can set an inactivity period in days, hours or minutes. If there is no user activity during this period (i.e. they do not access any doors or keypads), the user record will be deleted from the database.
User last active: Shows the date and time the user was last granted access to a door or keypad within the system (read only). This field is not updated when the user accesses a door record which represents a COP or DOP in an HLI elevator integration. See related article Users accessing elevator doors are being disabled due to inactivity for more details on this.
3. Card Disable
- From Security Expert Help
Card disabled: This setting allows a credential to be disabled without deleting the details. The credential can be re-enabled by unchecking the box. If a user has multiple credentials, the setting may be enabled or disabled where appropriate for each credential.
- Inactivity period: When this option is enabled you can set an inactivity period in days, hours or minutes. If the card is not used within this set period it will automatically be disabled.
When this option is enabled you can set an inactivity period in days, hours or minutes. If the credential is not used within this period it will automatically be disabled.
The maximum inactivity period is 365 days. If you enter a longer period the field will reset to the default period of 30 days.
4. Credentials
This section allows you to assign custom credentials to users. When a credential type has been created in Sites | Credential types it will be automatically added, or you can use the Add and Delete buttons to manage the user's available credentials.
- Credential type: The custom credential type that the credential is associated with (e.g. license plate, custom card format, compliance type, etc.).
- Disabled: Check this box to disable the credential without deleting it.
- Credential: The specific credential data for the user (e.g. their license plate).
- Start: Only applicable to compliance types. When this option is enabled the user will not be able to gain access using this compliance before the date specified.
- End: Only applicable to compliance types. When this option is enabled the compliance will expire after the time and date specified and the user will not be able to use it to gain access.
- Inactivity period: When this option is enabled you can set an inactivity period in days, hours or minutes. If the credential is not used within this period it will automatically be disabled.
The maximum inactivity period is 365 days. If you enter a longer period the field will reset.
5. Access Level Expires
When this option is enabled the access level will expire based on the defined start and end dates.